Sunday, October 11, 2015

10/11/1986 Grafton nabs the first Anthony Award

October 11, 1986.  The Anthony Awards are voted on by the attendees at each year's Bouchercon, the World Mystery Convention.  In effect they are modeled on the Hugo Awards, since science fiction fandom got organized a long time before our field di. 

The first Anthonys (Anthonies?)  were distributed on this date at the Bcon in Baltimore, Maryland.  Sue Grafton took home the Best Mystery Novel for B Is For Burglar, the second Kinsey Milhone book.  It also scored the Shamus Award for Best Private Eye Novel.

No comments:

Post a Comment